Tags

, ,

Yes! This second novel of mine, which has been so reluctant to shape itself up into anything resembling my first book, has finally found its true voice. Murder at Troublesome Creek now has a bit of the nonsense and the fun of the first book, which is only important if you like that kind of thing, which apparently a few of my readers do. (Bless your dear hearts.)

Anyway, this is more the way I think of branding–in that each book should mirror to some extent the tone of the book that went before it. And betwixt the two of us getting the next book to echo even in some small way the pattern of the first book is no easy thing.

So am I a bit premature in celebrating this alleged milestone here? Could be–since I’m still working in the first one-third of the novel,.But anyway, Diana Winters is coming to life, as is her mother-in-law, Clarice. And then there’s the killer, plus the potential love interest, who may or may not step forth from the pages to lure the heroine back into the world of happy-ever-aftering,. I’ll let you know when I’ve worked it all out and put the second novel up for sale.

In the meantime, how do you work? I know many people say to begin writing and to write until the book is finished. I can’t do that. I find myself writing and then rewriting until I feel I’ve gotten it right from the beginning. I think my doing so is a throwback to my journalism days. Get the lead right, they used to say, and the rest of the news story writes itself.

Many a night I drove home from a meeting or conflict of some sort composing leads in my head until I’d settle on the exact one I wanted. Then, back at the radio station or at the newspaper, depending upon which one I was working at then, the rest of the story, as they say, wrote itself. It’s a tough habit to break.

Anyway, happy reading and writing,

Anna Drake

